Rep. Bill Flores says District 17 needs a 'citizen legislator' in 2020

By  | 

WASHINGTON (Gray DC) -- When Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX) announced he was not running for re-election, he wasn't expecting the ballot for 2020 to fill up quite so much.

Rep. Bill Flores (R-TX) talks about the race for District 17's seat. (Source: Gray DC)

Eleven Republicans, three Democrats and one Libertarian are currently running for the District 17 seat. The district covers Waco, Austin and surrounding counties. Voters from the area will get the chance on Super Tuesday to select their nominees in the Texas primary.

The Republicans are Ahmad Adnan, Scott Bland, Laurie Godfrey-McReynolds, George Hindman, Todd Kent, Kristen Alamo Rowin, Pete Sessions, Trent Sutton, Renee Swann and Elianor Vessali. On the Democratic side, Rick Kennedy, William Foster III and David Jaramillo are running for the nomination. Ted Brown is the sole Libertarian seeking the nomination.

Rep. Flores stopped by the Gray DC Bureau to talk about the race for his seat. The full interview can be found above.

Copyright 2020 Gray DC. All rights reserved.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus