Lawmakers react to the impeachment inquiry vote

By  | 

WASHINGTON (Gray DC)-- The House of Representatives voted Thursday morning to proceed with the impeachment inquiry against President Donald Trump.

Vote Tallies are displayed as House members vote on a resolution on impeachment procedure to move forward into the next phase of the impeachment inquiry into President Trump, in the House Chamber on Capitol Hill in Washington, Thursday, Oct. 31, 2019. The resolution passed 232-196. The resolution will authorize the next stage of impeachment inquiry into President Donald Trump, including establishing the format for open hearings, giving the House Committee on the Judiciary the final recommendation on impeachment, and allowing President Trump and his lawyers to attend events and question witnesses. (AP Photo/Andrew Harnik)

232 members voted yes for an impeachment inquiry while 194 members voted against it. Every member of the Democratic House voted to move forward except for Rep. Peterson (D-MN) and Rep. Van Drew (D-NJ). Independent Rep. Amash also voted yes on the inquiry. Rep. McEachin (D-VA) did not vote, stating in a press release that he was still away from Congress while he recovered from an injury.

Every member of the Republican House voted against the resolution. Three members did not vote: Rep. Jody Hice (R-GA), Rep. Rose (R-TN) and Rep. Timmons (R-SC). Rep. Hice confirmed on Twitter he was away from Congress due to his father's passing, but would have voted no if he were present.

Gray DC caught up with several lawmakers from across the country following the vote to hear their opinions on the procedure moving forward.
Copyright 2019 Gray DC. All rights reserved.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus