Lawmakers from across the country have sights set on the first Democratic Presidential debate

By  | 

WASHINGTON (Gray DC) -- This week 20 Democrats will take the stage of the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts in Miami for the first debates of the 2020 Presidential campaign cycle. There will be two nights of debates, June 26 and 27, with 10 candidates taking the stage each night, from 9 p.m. ET to 11 p.m. ET. NBC News is hosting both nights of debates.

20 presidential candidates will take the debate stage split between Wednesday and Thursday. (Source: Gray DC)

To qualify for the debate, candidates had to earn at least one percent support in three separate national or early-state polls conducted from January 1 to June 12, or receive donations from at least 65,000 people from across 20 different states with a minimum of 200 unique donors per state.

The June 26 debate will feature Mayor Bill de Blasio of New York; Rep. Tim Ryan of Ohio; Julián Castro, the former housing secretary; Senator Cory Booker of New Jersey; Senator Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts; former Rep. Beto O’Rourke of Texas; Senator Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota; Representative Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii; Gov. Jay Inslee of Washington; and former Rep. John Delaney of Maryland.

The June 27 debate will feature Marianne Williamson, a self-help author; former Gov. John Hickenlooper of Colorado; Andrew Yang, an entrepreneur; Mayor Pete Buttigieg of South Bend, Ind.; former Vice President Joe Biden; Senator Bernie Sanders of Vermont; Senator Kamala Harris of California; Senator Kirsten Gillibrand of New York; Senator Michael Bennet of Colorado; and Rep. Eric Swalwell of California.

The lineups were randomly decided in a process engineered by the Democratic National Committee to avoid clustering the top-tier candidates in a single night. The candidates’ locations on the stage are based on best-known and highest-polling. Center stage on night one will feature Warren and O’Rourke, flanked by Booker and Klobuchar respectively. Night two Biden and Sanders will take center stage, flanked by Buttigieg and Harris respectively.

Lester Holt, anchor of NBC Nightly News, will moderate the first hour each night, with Savannah Guthrie, co-anchor of Today, and Jose Diaz-Balart, anchor of Noticias Telemundo, alongside him. Chuck Todd, moderator of Meet the Press, and Rachel Maddow, host of the Rachel Maddow Show, will moderate the second hour each night, with Holt alongside them.

Watch the one-on-one interviews above with lawmakers from across the country as they tune in, or out, for the debates.

Copyright2019Gray DC. All rights reserved.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus